Spice of Life

Spice of Life: Variety

Spice of Life: Variety

Here is my beautiful new Spice of Life Cowl, designed to showcase variegated yarn. I couldn’t choose only one texture to use because I wanted to celebrate the lovely variety of looks these yarns can create: the spice of life.

Cowl worn around shoulders

Medium sized cowl worn around shoulders

It’s designed for a lightweight 3ply yarn- the beautiful Soliloquy Sock Lace from Tall Yarns n Tales. 50g of yarn will make a narrow cowl, 70g makes the medium size (pictured) and 100g will give you a luxuriously wider version. Use a semi-solid shade for a subtler effect.

I also think a heavy laceweight could work well – try giving it a swatch! If you’re a confident knitter, I’m sure you could substitute 4ply and go up a needle size until you find the fabric you want, adjusting yarn quantities etc – this is what my lovely test knitter, Suki (thanks again), did with beautiful results. I’m considering experimenting with a fine laceweight held doubled since I’ve got some stash issues with fine yarns I’ll never get to knitting singly I’m sure.

All sizes can be worn simply round the neck, or twisted up double as a pretty neck warmer. M & L sizes can also be opened out and worn round the shoulders, showing off the yarn and stitch pattern more fully.

Twisted up double

Twisted up double

Now, I mention in my pattern that some technical help is available in my blog, so here goes. Firstly, the wonderful TECHknitter has explained various things better than I ever will:

Is there anything else you’d like me to add by way of technical help for this pattern? If yes, please do let me know. Enjoy.

 
One thought on “Spice of Life

  1. Pingback: Spice Route | INSPIRATION KNITS

Leave a Reply

