Wishing you a happy, colour-filled new year!

Happy New Year!

Winter sunset in Twickenham

Is is just me or are the colours of the sky more spectacular in the winter time?

I can’t tell you how happy I am to be back, especially after last month’s end-of-year thumb fiasco. The thumb is definitely on the mend, and while I still can’t do much with fiddly little bits like finishing the Santas that were my goal for the end of December, I’m hoping to cast on and comfortably knit in the round on endless stockinette. I’m likening it to a kind of physical therapy – or at least that’s my story and I’m sticking to it! (Don’t worry, I’m going to get to those Santas finished soon since the kids are still asking for them, I just need a bit of time where I can concentrate once they’ve gone back to school.)

Still waiting: little bits of Santas

Still waiting: little bits of Santas

One of the most disappointing things about the thumb-fiasco is that I had all of my December knitting planned out for when all of the Christmas knitting was done. It was a grand plan of knitting for me, me, ME! And I was gutted that it didn’t happen. So for the first time in ages I’ve made a kind-of New Year’s resolution. I’m counting January as a December do-over and I’m going to do all the me-knitting that I want. I can’t wait! I realise this is probably something that many of you already do in January. I’m not a fan of calling it “selfish knitting” though, as selfish is a negative word and I don’t want to feel negative about my knitting. Right?

Spinning: will this be one of my new crafty and colourful explorations this year?

Spinning: will this be one of my new crafty and colourful explorations this year?

My second resolution is more about having a theme to focus my creative efforts around this year. It will probably come as no surprise to you all that I’ve chosen for my theme to be all about COLOUR! There are lots of crafty things I’d like to do or try this year that are outside my usual knitting. With colour as a theme I won’t feel like I’m restricted to just one craft and I can dabble in a lot of different things. Who knows, maybe I’ll even get into crochet?!

So tell me – what are you creative or crafty goals for 2017? Do you celebrate with a theme or just get on with things? I’d love to hear about your resolutions if you have them, as well as any tips or ideas you have that will help me in my own colourful exploration this year. Let me know!

Leave a Reply

