Saltfleet Cowl

One of the things that I love most about working as a knitwear designer are the collaborations. They could be with other designers, or yarn dyers or shops but they’re always a thrill. When the creative juices start flowing and we’re bouncing ideas off of each other is when I feel the most inspired and energised about my work. There’s also nothing like a fixed deadline to help spur things along too! This was the case with my new Saltfleet Cowl.

Introducing the Saltfleet Cowl

Introducing the Saltfleet Cowl

While it’s been quiet here on the blog there’s been a lot of furious designing and knitting going on behind the scenes and I’m excited that I can now tell you about wonderful collaboration that I was invited to be a part of with Purlescence and Triskelion Yarn. Purlescence have become a retailer partner of Triskelion Yarn and will be exclusively carrying the Idris DK base, and of course dyed in Caerthan’s stunningly beautiful colourways.

Triskelion Yarns Idris DK in Agate – hellooo teal of my dreams!

Sarah from Purlescence knew she wanted a new pattern to help launch the yarn and that’s where I come in! The yarn is making it’s debut at Yarndale this weekend with some gorgeous new colourways and while the temperatures haven’t quite dropped off in London yet, they are in other parts of the country. Knowing that the chillier days will soon be upon us, especially now with the Autumn equinox this week, my mind went instantly to a cowl. It’s definitely cowl season.

Saltfleet Cowl details: bold textured shapes designed to stand out

Saltfleet Cowl details: bold textured shapes designed to stand out

Once I had the yarn in hand and was able to swatch with it I knew I also wanted it to be rich in texture. The Idris DK is 100% British Bluefaced Leicester with a lovely shine from the long staple length of the wool. Caerthan has also dyed up some new colourways exclusive to Purlescence and knowing my weakness for teals they sent me a beautiful new colour called Agate. It immediately called to mind the sea and a nautical feel and thinking about texture I wanted to do something inspired by traditional ganseys.

A quick, satisfying knit of supreme cosiness

A quick, satisfying knit of supreme cosiness

The result is the Saltfleet Cowl with bold geometric shapes and deep textures to really show off this hand-dyed yarn in the best possible way. I’ve written the pattern in three sizes, the largest using only two skeins of Idris DK so this is definitely a quick knit that you can finish off before the temperatures drop much lower! The pattern also includes suggestions for “Play” and how you can make the cowl wider or narrower, taller or shorter depending on your preference.

The Saltfleet Cowl pattern is now available on Ravelry or from Purlescence on stand 110 at Yarndale - where they'll also have this delicious yarn!

The Saltfleet Cowl pattern is now available on Ravelry or from Purlescence on stand 110 at Yarndale – where they’ll also have this delicious yarn!

If you’d like to squoosh the yarn and pet the sample in person, visit Purlescence on stand 110 at Yarndale this weekend. Sarah and Jonathan will have the pattern too, as well as Caerthan’s gorgeous yarns. I’m disappointed to not be going this year so I’ll be watching Instagram with envy!

PS we’re having a knitalong in my Ravelry group through October. Come and share your yarn choice on the thread as we get ready to cast on…what colour will you choose?

One thought on “Saltfleet Cowl

Leave a Reply

