Nearly there: Knit Play Colour

A glimpse of Trailblazer, in EasyKnits ZipLight, shade Earthern.

A glimpse of Trailblazer, in EasyKnits ZipLight, shade Earthern.

Today is slightly surreal. I am alternating checking final amends to the book proofs with other, slightly random, book-related tasks: I have just watched a live online demo of a franking machine.

This morning I read a pile of technical reviews so that I could order a mobile card reader – I’ll be all set to take pre-orders at the Yarn and the City designer spotlight in just two weeks time (more of that in a minute). I’ve finally had a chance to look at the plain brown card packaging samples from two different companies, so that I’m ready to send knitters and stores their orders. I lost the will when choosing labels for the franking machine though…that can wait. The minutiae of things involved in producing a book is somewhat mind-boggling.

Some things have been a bit more exciting, even though they’re technically administrative. I’m now officially registered as a publisher and have paid for a first batch of ISBN numbers. Yes, one copy of the book really does have to be sent to the British Library. Disappointingly it’s not to be sent to their imposing London location, but to an archive located somewhere much more prosaic.

Flight of Colour is shown in a simple 3-colour combination, together with a wealth of other options

Flight of Colour is shown in a simple 3-colour combination, together with a wealth of other options

But the proofs are the most exciting thing. It’s been quite a journey from bare text in a document to a beautiful book, carefully crafted with a gorgeous layout and stunning photographs. It’s such a team effort. I’m writing this in between checking the final amends – just the odd word here and there.

The first pattern pages will be shared on Ravelry on Tuesday 1st September, Pre-ordering will go live in my new webshop for the paperback version, which will also come with a download code for the digital version. And for those of you who just want the digital version, pre-ordering will go live for that on Ravelry. Don’t worry, I’ll share all the links when its time.

If you want a chance to see the samples in person, I’ll be at Yarn in the City’s Popup Marketplace at the designer spotlight on Saturday 5th September, in the afternoon. I’ll bring as many samples as I can carry! I’ll take pre-orders then too, so I can post you your copy as soon as I can.

Throughout September I’ll share the rest of the pattern pages on Ravelry, during the pre-order period. Do keep an eye out for them, as the details of the patterns arrive online.

A tiny edge of Affinity - a shawl for a pair of yarns

A tiny edge of Affinity – a shawl for a pair of yarns

The earliest you can get your hands on a copy of the book is at the official launch at Yarndale 26-27 Sept. I’m a guest on Eden Cottage Yarns stand, which is really exciting. Their stand is going to be AMAZING! I’ll try not to buy all of Victoria’s beautiful yarn before the show actually opens…well, I’ll do my best, but I can’t promise there will be any purples left. I’ll try to leave some alpaca for everyone else. If you want to steal a march on your knitterly friends, get your copy of the book at Yarndale, a few days before it ships to everyone else. Victoria is also launching a book for Eden Cottage, but I can’t talk about that in much detail yet either. So much anticipation! I’m aiming to take pre-orders marked for collection at Yarndale so that you know your copy is reserved and waiting for you – again I’ll share details of links as soon as it’s all live.

I’ll start shipping books (with smartly franked postage and in sturdy packaging) on Tuesday 29th September. The last of the pattern pages will be shared on Ravelry on that day, and the digital download option will go live too.

I can’t wait! We’ll have a KAL starting in our Ravelry group from 1st October. I am not totally sure what we’ll KAL, but I’ve a few ideas on how we’ll decide…meanwhile, I have a final proof to check.

2 thoughts on “Nearly there: Knit Play Colour

  1. I really love your posts about the process of writing and publishing a book. It’s all the detail that I never knew about! I’m really excited on your behalf; I can only imagine how exciting it must be for you to actually be doing it! Can’t wait to see your samples at the Popup Marketplace.

Leave a Reply

