Merrily we knitalong…

I’m sure I’ve said it before but one of the most rewarding things as a designer is seeing my patterns go off into the world to be knit by so many of you. Knitalongs (KALs) always get me incredibly excited – especially when WIP and FO photos are posted!

February has been fantastic on the KAL front so far. Finishes have been pouring in from the Maltings KAL for the upcoming Unravel show. It’s nice to know it will be easy to spot people at the show with their Maltings cowls!

Here are just a few of the latest images that I’ve been drooling over:

Summerberrycrafts knit this beautiful version of Maltings using Eden Cottage Yarns Titus 4ply

Summerberrycrafts knit this beautiful version of Maltings using Eden Cottage Yarns Titus 4ply

I love how warm this pink is. It looks so snuggly and Summerberrycrafts has said she’s already cast on for another, this time using a DK weight yarn. I love hearing that you enjoy a pattern so much you want to knit it again – it’s one of the best compliments!

PannieB's cowl used a gorgeous Natural Dye Studio 4ply held double

PannieB’s cowl was knit using a gorgeous Natural Dye Studio 4ply held double

It’s always exciting seeing the different yarn choices that people make. This Natural Dye Studio 4ply held double by PannieB created a soft variegated effect that works really well without losing any of the stitch pattern within it.

A Mini Maltings version of the cowl by Monicaza

A Mini Maltings version of the cowl by Monicaza in Fyberspates Vivacious DK

Monicaza opted for the Mini Maltings version and I think it’s a great example of how versatile the pattern is. And look how beautiful it is in this colour! A quick look at Monicaza’s projects revealed that she’s already knit another one – this time as a gift for a friend!

Of course there is a problem with ogling so many FOs and WIPs as these KALs take place – I see other yarns that I’d like to knit the pattern in myself, such as this luscious Maltings by lzi on Ravelry:

lzi used the decadent Shilasdair Luxury DK for her Maltings cowl

lzi used the decadent Shilasdair Luxury DK for her Maltings cowl

Needless to say I am now seriously eyeing the Shilasdair Luxury DK I have in my own stash and wondering if I could knit one in time for next week!

HeatherMurray's Maltings cowl is being knit out of yarn she spun herself!

HeatherMurray’s Maltings cowl is being knit out of yarn she spun herself!

Finally, I had to share this last WIP photo from HeatherMurray on Ravelry who has been knitting Maltings using her own handspun. There’s just a hint in the wound yarn of how it’s going to transition colour-wise and I can’t wait to see it in person!

If you’re at Unravel and happen to see me wearing my own Maltings, please be sure to say hello! It’s always amazing to meet knitters in person, and of course I hope I’ll meet even more of you in my workshop on the Sunday too.

Next week on the blog I’ll have some more KAL news, and a special download to help you plan and make the most out of your trip to the show!

 

One thought on “Merrily we knitalong…

Leave a Reply

