Distractions on a Thursday

The weather has been perfectly horrid the last couple of days in London. It’s chucking it down again. I’ve been trying to get work done but the grey skies and rain are so dreary that I confess I’ve been far better employed having a little play on Ravelry.

I'm pleased with the progress on my own Shadowlines. If there's anything this weather is good for, it's staying inside and knitting!

I’m pleased with the progress on my own Shadowlines. If there’s anything this weather is good for, it’s staying inside and knitting!

The Cosy Cables KAL for Umbra and Shadowlines are ticking along nicely. I’m actually rather pleased with the progress on my own Shadlowlines, in spite of the yarn being hard work on my hands. In any case, checking in with the KAL sent me down the rabbit hole of seeing what other projects people have knit from Knit Play Colour – either related to a KAL or not. The projects and photos I’ve found have cheered me up immensely on this grey day and I hope they do the same for you. (Tip: Click the photos to go through to project pages on Ravelry).

Yarn Tamer

I know you can’t have favourites among your children but the Yarn Tamer cowl really is one of the projects that I love the most from the book. I love how eye-searingly colourful most of the wild yarns are, but then they elegantly evolve into a cowl that is fun and playful but not over the top.

Loving the purple undertones on this Yarn Tamer by Raychball on Ravelry

Loving the purple undertones on this Yarn Tamer by Raychball on Ravelry

A bright and sunny Yarn Tamer by Jenastra

A bright and sunny Yarn Tamer by Jenastra

Jenastra’s SECOND Yarn Tamer is like a rainbow appearing after the rain

Trailblazer

You know my love for warm russets and autumn colours and these photos by Julie from Knitted Bliss of her finished Trailblazer are GORGEOUS.

knitted bliss trailblazer 2

Knitted Bliss trailblazer

Heart Deco

A KAL is planned for January/February of the Heart Deco cowl and the Warm Hearted blanket. I wonder how many of you will want to knit a gradient version of the cowl (myself included!) after seeing how wonderful this one looks by jAlzha on Ravelry.

Note to self: toss stash or buy gradient yarn before January's KAL!

Note to self: toss stash or buy gradient yarn before January’s KAL!

Umbra

Umbra seems to be the go-to choice for the KAL at the moment, and everyone seems to be getting a jump on their holiday knitting with these quick chunky cows. I love seeing the uses of different chunky yarns and how the cowl changes with each of them.

I love the stitch definition of Tangled-Yarn's Umbra in Debbie Bliss Rialto Chunky

I love the stitch definition of Tangled-Yarn’s Umbra in Debbie Bliss Rialto Chunky

Wonderful sheen and drape on this version by Sarah1703 in Fyberspates Chunky Scrumptious Solid

Wonderful sheen and drape on this version by Sarah1703 in Fyberspates Chunky Scrumptious Solid

Petal has used Mirasol Sulka yarn giving her Umbra a soft halo

Petal has used Mirasol Sulka yarn giving her Umbra a soft halo

Shadowlines

Probably the most playful version of anything that I’ve seen made out of the book so far is this shrug by Lillasyster on Ravelry who used all the yarn she had from an unravelled sweater. There wasn’t enough to make the wrap but I think the way she’s made this pattern her own is nothing short of amazing. Inspiration for us all!

I also love the texture of the yarn and the cables together - a glorious combination!

I also love the texture of the yarn and the cables together – a glorious combination!

It’s amazing seeing all of these projects from the book and I’m truly touched that some of you have enjoyed them enough to knit them multiple times! Thank you again – and, keep ’em coming! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Distractions on a Thursday

  1. Hi, Louise, Ruth here! I am enjoying knitting Affinity, and have the exact yarns from Miss Babs and Sweet Georgia. I wondered how many stripes there are until I need to do the Beads? I thought each ball would be 100g, so didn’t weigh them. Then I read the label and the Sweet Georgia is 115g! I have 87g contrast and 62g main yarns,at the moment and have done 36 stripes.( in Contrast). Thanks, Ruth (Ruthrabbit on Ravelry)

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Hi Ruth, I’m so glad you’re enjoying Affinity. You’ll just need to work out % based on the yarn you started with, as per the pattern. See Main Pattern, Rep rows 1-8… You’re just working to whichever yarn you hit those % on first. Starting weight doesn’t have to be the same, you just have to stop when one or other yarn needs you to stop!

      (As an aside…The Shiruku goes a long way so it’s possible you may even have that left at the end, despite starting with less weight. Yarns vary in how far they will go depending on yardage per skein, composition and spin. You’ve actually got less yardage on the Sweet Georgia as it’s slightly heavier but the yarns knit well together anyway.)

      If it isn’t clear enough please email me louise at inspiration knits.com The number of stripes I have is unlikely to help…I lost 10g to swatching the design before I started, and our gauges won’t be the same :-/

      As a rule, regardless of what the ball band claims, I would always weigh each skein because it could be 5% more or less than it should be…or worse sometimes! So err on the side of caution if you didn’t weigh this time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

