Yarn show recap: I Knit Fandango

Dear Yarn Stash – I know I said that I really needed to behave this past weekend at the I Knit Fandango. Especially when I’m trying be so good about “cold sheep”-ing this year. But you know me… …and really, since you do know me, I’m sure it will come as no surprise then that I might have fallen off the wagon just a teeny tiny bit. All in the name of research, of course! There is the new book to consider after all, and I want to make sure there are a few (okay, well, a lot) of yarn-y options for people to choose between.

And really, when I wrote last week about the tempting fibres that were going to be on offer it just didn’t seem right not to have a couple of little treats. Especially when there were treats to be had such as German wunderkind Wollmeise! Just look at these lovelies I’ve brought home to play:

L-R: Gluckstag, Amazonas, Franz with Chickenpox, Flohmarkt

Wollmeise L-R: Gluckstag, Amazonas, Franz with Chickenpox, Flohmarkt

Of course you know how much I love jewel tones, and who does them better than Caerthan of Triskelion Yarns? The Branwen 4-ply in particular is an extra fine merino/silk slice of deliciousness:

Triskelion Yarns L-R: Llyr, Bootes, Bootes Dlisosus

Triskelion Yarns L-R: Llyr, Bootes, Bootes Dlisosus

While I’m agonizing mulling over what to make from the Wollmeise and Triskelion yarns, I thought I might seek comfort in the familiarity of Whimzy‘s Sokkusu O. This skein in Lost Meadow would be perfect for a new Painted scarf. Soft, muted colours make it perfect for late August. Or maybe it’s going to find its way into the book…I might just have wound the skein already…if it’s on my desk maybe it’s not really stash?

Whimzy Sokkusu O in Lost Meadow

Whimzy Sokkusu O in Lost Meadow

But then I always come back to the comfort of garter stitch. A girl can always use another Knit Night, non? I feel like this skein of Kettle Yarn Co.‘s luscious Westminster (helloooo baby camel and silk!) would be the ultimate in luxury set off with soft, teal beads (yes, I know, I have a teal “situation”).

Kettle Yarn Co. Westminster in Florence

Kettle Yarn Co. Westminster in Florence

See? That’s not so bad. Only nine new stash-babies – not even double digits! Although I did forget about the lovely Porpoise Fur fibre. And some Wollmeise laceweight. But the fibre is a whole other stash. And laceweight is an investment. So it doesn’t count, right? Right?! I can’t wait to see what we create with all this gorgeousness! Swatch date soon? Much love, Louise xx

3 thoughts on “Yarn show recap: I Knit Fandango

Leave a Reply

