Unravel: yarn confessional

Ananuca's handspun "sweets", by way of a visual appetiser.

Ananuca’s handspun “sweets”, by way of a visual appetiser.

I’ll let the yarn do the talking.

It was so hard to choose.

Natural Dye Studio are closing in April, so I had to take what is likely to be my last chance to buy some of Amanda’s signature rainbow of soft colours…didn’t I?

Yarns from the Natural Dye Studio, with perfectly matched 5/0 Toho beads from Moon Beads.

From the Natural Dye Studio, with perfectly matched 5/0 Toho beads from Moon Beads.

I couldn’t get out of the Great Hall without stopping by The Little Grey Sheep. Their display was jaw-dropping this year. I fell for (top to bottom, below) Our Last First Kiss, Clover and I Never Saw You Coming, all in British Stein Fine Wool 4ply.

Fresh greens and aquas from The Little Grey Sheep

Fresh greens and aquas from The Little Grey Sheep

My colour choices got bolder from here on in. Kettle Yarn Co have a good range from softer to stronger colours, including a new neon pink – and beautiful samples. I took note, though I was feeling indecisive so I need to visit the online shop soon, or go to Wild & Woolly where I admit I’ve already been petting Linda’s beautiful yarn!

Kettle Yarns from soft to deep and juicy colours.

Kettle Yarns – from soft to deep and juicy colours.

My biggest splurge of the day was at Easy Knits. I confess that in the past it’s been really difficult to even get onto their stand, and I couldn’t see into the closed bay with wrap-around yarn display. I really liked the new open layout, so I could see what was there. It was also great to be able to talk to Jon, the colour-talent behind the yarn. Yes, there was an advantage to going on the Sunday when it was quieter.

My kids seriously thought I’d bought these (Lagoon and Bad Hero) for them since they’re very much “their” colours. Maybe that’s why I couldn’t put these skeins down! The yarn is 4ply, called Deeply Wicked but Deeply Tempting seems equally appropriate.

Deeply Wicked from Easy Knits - bold and beautiful

Deeply Wicked from Easy Knits – bold and beautiful

I love these three skeins together – a modern take on a gradient set, but variegated. I have no idea what I’m going to make with these, but it’s going to be epic, IMHO. From left to right these are Grey Dawn, Strangled Vines and Stay away from the light.

A stunning trio, with gold and grey in common, contrasting with plum.

Deeply Wicked: A stunning trio, with gold and grey in common, contrasting with plum.

Before I completely ran out of steam, I found The Fibre Company hiding in a side-room. I liberated the last two skeins of Tundra in Diablo Beach. I’m hoping it’ll be enough for a cabled cowl, but it will certainly make a non-cabled one if I’m pushing my luck. I am seriously tempted to cast on and just get it done because it’ll only take about 5 minutes in such a bulky yarn…won’t it?! I want to wear it while the weather is still chilly, and its starting to turn to Spring here…almost. This is such a luxurious blend of alpaca, merino and silk. For once I am glad not to live nearer the Equator, because there would be no need to knit this in the Tropics. And that is a sad thing.

The Fibre Company's Tundra is appropriately named.

The Fibre Company’s Tundra is appropriately named: for cold, wild weather only.

They also gave me a set of colour cards, which I have to share because they’re gorgeous. I’m such a sucker for a good colour card! I just start dreaming…because obviously I don’t have enough yarn, even straight after a yarn show.

The Fibre Company's beautiful colour cards.

The Fibre Company’s beautiful colour cards.

All this yarn is wonderful, but it was even better to catch up with friends (and make new friends) at the show. Thank you for making a great show into a great day with you all…and thank you to the organisers.

2 thoughts on “Unravel: yarn confessional

Leave a Reply

