The Great Christmas Knit Off: Competition

The Great Christmas Knit OffHow d’you fancy the chance of winning a fantastic hamper of crafty goodies?

Whilst having some festive knitterly fun?

To celebrate the launch of Alexandra Brown’s new book, The Great Christmas Knit Off, here’s a fun competition…

1. Knit a Christmas pudding of your choice.

2. Place the pudding in a public area and take a photo of it.

3. Upload your pudding photo to Instagram or Twitter, and make sure it’s tagged #ChristmasKnitOff

Not on Instagram or Twitter? Email your entry instead, to fictionmarketing@harpercollins.co.uk with the subject Christmas Knit Off.

So what’s the link to the book? Well, the story is “the perfect seasonal tale of how laughter, friends and wacky Christmas jumpers can mend a broken heart. Heartbroken after being jilted at the altar, Sybil has been saved from despair by her knitting obsession and now her home is filled to bursting with tea cosies, bobble hats, and jumpers.” Knit off hamperIt’s just possible we can relate to that knitting obsession, and that knitting with friends is even better. So…I’ve donated a copy of Knit Night pattern to the publisher’s prize hamper, because it’s perfect for knitting while chatting. The lovely Purlesence have donated a skein of Fyberspates Vivacious 4ply in Spiced Plums, plus ChiaoGoo needles and a bottle of Soak for blocking, so that makes a gorgeous Knit Night kit. HarperCollins have put together a great hamper, including some of their own craft books. This would keep any of us happy over Christmas.

OK, back to the story – “Sybil, just weeks before Christmas, runs away to the picturesque village of Tindledale. There, Sybil discovers Hettie’s House of Haberdashery, an emporium dedicated to the world of knitting and needle craft. But Hettie is struggling and now the shop is due for closure. And when Hettie decides that Sybil’s wonderfully wacky Christmas jumpers are just the thing to add a bit of excitement to her window display, something miraculous starts to happen…” I need to type faster so that I can start reading – I couldn’t wait for a print copy, so I’ve just downloaded it this morning!

Which brings me on to my other connection to this, which is rather unexpected. Back in the Summer my kids’ school ran an “Auction of Promises” to raise money for the school. Yes, this is still relevant. One of the promises was to have your name used for a minor character in this book! I must confess I couldn’t quite believe my eyes when I saw this listed, in amongst offers of face-painting parties, holiday-cottage loans and lawn-mowing. It’s possible my family would have preferred me to bid on something else, but at least my knitting group understood my excitement. Yes, I won the auction! I didn’t dare say this at the time, but as a friend joked, what if my name is used for a property developer who wants to bulldoze Hetty’s shop and put up a supermarket instead? Now I’m curious to find out.

Jamieson's Spindrift: perfect traditional choice. I think Hetty would approve.

Jamieson’s Spindrift: perfect traditional choice. I think Hettie would approve.

I’ll have to fit my Christmas Pudding knitting round my reading. I did consider buying the audio-book, so I can do both. I know lots of knitters do this, to aid the multi-tasking. Apparently I am already planning to knit 3 little puddings, so you can expect plenty of festive Knitting In Public photos on Instagram, as well as the finished articles. My first will be as deeply sophisticated as a knitted Christmas pudding can be, in Jamieson’s Spindrift. I can photograph it stylishly in artisan coffee shops, or outdoors in pale wintery light. I will pretend to be a grown-up even though I’m actually photographing a knitted pudding. In public. I can’t wait!

Then I know I need to make one each for the kids, in child-friendly MillaMia. They love the adorable Christmas Mice I made last year – plus it avoids the drama of making something they promise they want but then refuse to wear. I’m going to tweak the colours to suit my kids’ tastes, with bright green leaves for my green-obsessed son and pink berries for my daughter.

Bright, child-friendly MillaMia, for a modern take on tradition.

Bright, child-friendly MillaMia, for a modern twist.

We love Sue Stratford’s tiny Christmas Pud, and it’s free for a limited period, so please get your free copy as soon as you can. It’s also in her jolly book of Mini Christmas Knits, which I love. Or a quick search of Ravelry will reveal a selection of other designs.

Christmas Pud, pattern by Sue Stratford

Christmas Pud, pattern by Sue Stratford

Now, the most wool-obsessed readers will know this is also the month of Wovember, or to translate, knitting with wool in November. Yes, my chosen yarns are all wool. Go check out the Wovember Instagram photo competition too, and if your pud is woolly, get their hashtag on your pics too.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I’m afraid the Christmas Pudding competition is UK-only. However, there’s nothing to stop you joining in with your own pud, wherever you live; you’ll absolutely be eligible for the silly fun but just not the prize draw. Full terms and conditions are available to download here: Competition T&C

AND everyone will be eligible to enter my blog competition, coming soon. I’ve got an extra copy of The Great Christmas Knit Off to give away, so keep an eye out for that. I can’t wait to read my copy!

So, which yarn will you go-to for your Christmas Pudding? Have a dig through your scraps, and come and join in the fun. Or will you start reading first? yarn bom comp

One thought on “The Great Christmas Knit Off: Competition

  1. Pingback: Merry Monday: A Quick Christmas Contest | INSPIRATION KNITS

Leave a Reply

