Inspiration Knits visits The Knitting Hut

Samples & yarn

Samples, Silkie & Sokkusu O

Thank you to Sue Stratford at The Knitting Hut for welcoming me to her wonderful yarn store for a trunk show on Saturday. The new Whimzy Sokkusu O colours I brought with me went down a storm, as did the Silkie Merino.

Sue selflessly chose some gorgeous Sokkusu O before I had even got it unpacked, just so she could get it wound immediately. She wanted to get Stay Awhile on the needles to “show customers”, you understand. Well, that was her story….

Sue chose the new raspberry Cabaret and paired it with Spring Storm, which is a soft grey with lime and pink flecks. They look perfect together, complete with plum beads on the Cabaret and silver on the Spring Storm. Pretty soon we had an impromptu KAL when KnitIam arrived with her nearly finished Squink & Thistle version.

Let's KAL Stay Awhile!

Let’s KAL Awhile! Sue (left) selflessly casts on, while Max is nearly finished her Stay Awhile.

The Silkie Merino sold out at high speed, for Knit Night. One earlybird was lucky enough to snag two skeins to make a luxurious Stay Awhile. By the time I left, most of the Sokkusu O was gone too, along with lots of beads and patterns for Stay Awhile. It was lovely to take such a successful guest yarn to Sue’s shop, and Stay Awhile was definitely the star pattern.

Louise & Sue

Louise wearing her Stay Awhile & while Sue starts hers!

I had such a lovely time meeting local knitters and catching up with friends. We discussed lots of Inspiration Knits patterns and chose from Sue’s vibrant selection of yarns. I love enabling! We talked about aran and mohair, 4ply, colourwork, stripes, adding beads…just about everything knitterly. Foolproof caught a few people’s eye because of it’s surprising construction. The double-sided style of the Safe Haven pieces was discussed, along with how they were constructed to avoid sewing. The lovely Leave these to Me mitts pattern went home with several people, as did Winter Shadows. Sue had a great selection of colours of Debbie Bliss Angel & Party Angel for the latter pattern.

Patterns & samples

Patterns & samples to browse

I managed to talk myself into a very restrained (given Sue’s wonderful yarns) purchase of MillaMia Naturally Soft Merino in Cobalt blue. I love this colour – I have a whole pinterest board just for Cobalt – but I never found the time to design with it last year. It’s a limited edition colour, and now it’s nearly all sold out I can’t in all conscience design with it; don’t you just hate it when the pattern notes say Fabulous Yarn in Gorgeous Colour (Discontinued)? Grrrr.

However, I decided I’d love to at least knit something for myself with the colour. For once, I cast on as soon as I got home, because I was so envious of the other knitters who were planning to do just that! I’ve started a snug Ice Storm cowl because I’ve been meaning to make myself one and this seemed like the perfect time (and it’s the perfect bouncy yarn). I’m looking forward to seeing which new Limited Edition colours MillaMia bring out next, and I’m planning to make time to design with it too.

Cobalt

Ice Storm Snug Cowl in MillaMia’s Limited Edition Cobalt

I admired Sue’s legendary Meerkats and menagerie of knitted animals dotted around the store. I love Sue’s designs – they are just so much fun. Did you see the Christmas Mousies I made from her kit? I am eagerly awaiting the restocking of another of her kits, but I’m afraid I can’t tell you which one because it’s a surprise gift for a knitting friend!

However, I’m not sure my family understood what I was doing all day; my young son observed, “It’s funny that it’s called a trunk show when it’s got nothing to do with elephants.”

Have you been to a designer’s trunk show at your local yarn store? What did you think? Have fun? What was the best (or worst) thing about it, for you?

Leave a Reply

