Truly Scrumptious Tour

SCRUMPTIOUSVOL3_frontcover

Scrumptious Collection Vol 3 is visiting Inspiration Knits on its blog tour today! This is very exciting because I love working with Fyberspates Scrumptious yarn. I’ll take any excuse to pore over pictures of beautiful things made in these luscious yarns. And you’ve got the chance to win a copy of the book too!

I’ve been asked to participate in the blog tour because I use Scrumptious regularly in my own designs. I admit I couldn’t pass up the opportunity for a sneaky peek at the new book from Fyberspates. I love the different characters of the Scrumptious yarn weights, all with that beautiful silk sheen and soft merino handle. The way the yarns take colour turns the skeins into a collection of semi-precious stones, just looking for the right setting.

At the moment I’m completely obsessed with Scrumptious 4ply/Sport in Dandelion & Burdock. I made Foolproof in this deep inky purple, teamed with gentle Oyster. I had really wanted to show off the Dandelion colour all on its own, but they looked so beautiful together that they just had to be striped. Obviously, now I’ve had to get another skein to pet and mull-over for that dream project! The 4ply/sport is probably my favourite weight: it has a good twist for easy knitting, it’s not too heavy, not too light.

Lerryn Mittens

Lerryn Mittens by Rachel Coopey (Image copyright Jesse Wild)

However, I confess I have literally a drawer full of Scrumptious DK in 5 different colours. I have a weakness for single-spun yarns like this. There’s something so simple and precious about it. You can really see the quality of the fine fibres because they’re not twisted up so tight. It’s soft and airy, which is why I used it for Winter Shadows. Despite being DK, its single-spun nature means it floats with the Kidsilk Haze. I’ve only got one skein in Plum and Rachel Coopey’s Lerryn Mittens look ideal for a little stash-busting (or a small January treat). A splash of warm colour against my dark winter coat. The cables will make them extra-cosy.

Scrumptious Aran is such a different thing. Dense and springy. Purl stitches just bounce out of a background of knit. I used it for my Careen pieces, where stitch definition is everything. Simple. Effective.

Lastly, there is Scrumptious laceweight. It looks gorgeous in the skein, and is just as perfect to swatch. The project I originally planned to make just wasn’t quite right, so it’s quietly maturing in stash until the right idea comes along. I’m not using a top-quality laceweight on a less-than-fabulous idea. It will wait patiently. Or I might just have to cast on Judy Furlong’s Loveny Mantle instead! That Wine Gum colour is another favourite Scrumptious shade; a coloured neutral which is kinder to my skin tone than a flat navy.

Loveny Mantle

Loveny Mantle by Judy Furlong (Image copyright Jesse Wild)

All comments on this post, by the end of this month, will be entered into a free prize draw to win a copy of the book! What would you like to make from the new collection? What’s your truly Scrumptious colour?

Scrumptious Collection Volume 3, £12.00 in print or digital. Blog tour continues on Tuesday 28th with Carol Feller at Stolen Stitches, The Knit Girllls and Ashley Knowlton.

19 thoughts on “Truly Scrumptious Tour

  1. Thank you for the inspiration!
    I have just bought a copy of the Foolproof e-book as I hadn’t seen your patterns before and have just fallen in love with them. My favourite knitting projects are shawls that use colours in interesting ways hence I will adore knitting them.
    You are absolutely right that Dandelion and Burdoch is beautiful for one of your shawls, but currently there’s a gap in my wardrobe for a green shawl so for my Scrumptious colour I’m looking at Jen’s Green and combining this with either Midnight or Deep Chestnut.
    I don’t often knit jumpers but for the adorable Larigan by Amanda Crawford in the Scrumptious Collection I am going to make an exception!

  2. I absolutely adore the loveny mantle and have been wanting to try knitting something in scrumptious lace for ages. The cherry or midnight colours are my favourites, who knows I might have to do two!!

  3. I’m a huge fan of the Wine Gum colourway of Scrumptious Lace, so the Loveny Mantle is the one I have my eye on! I just wish they’d do the other weights in the same colour! Pretty please?!

  4. The winner of the prize draw is…Jannika. (I use random.org to give me a number; it really is random.) Congratulations on winning a copy of the book!

    Thank you to everyone who entered with your comments. I’ve loved reading them all.

Leave a Reply

