Inspiration Knits is coming to Unravel!

All I can think about right now is Unravel. I can barely focus for long enough to write a blog post, even though this blog post is actually about Unravel. It’s a “Festival of Knitting”, and we will have a stand there, 21-23 February. It’s our first show and I’m so excited!

We’ve got so much for you to see. Our beautiful patterns. Exclusive yarns. The right beads. We’ve got lots of samples so you can see how things knit up in real life. We’ll be on hand to answer questions – I’ll be there all 3 days of the show. Make sure you collect a free Inspiration Knits badge – you’ll need it for one of our special show offers.

One highlight has to be the new samples for the revised pattern for Song of the Sea. My patterns are still very much still alive for me when they are published. In fact, they really only come alive when people start making their own projects. I love seeing the photos and reading the project notes. I want to know how easy knitters find the pattern to follow, and if the results match their dreams. I don’t design in an ivory tower; I want my patterns to be right for you.

Sneak Preview!  Song of the Sea in Fyberspates Scrumptious HT DK

Sneak Preview!
Song of the Sea in Fyberspates Scrumptious HT DK

I’ve been wanting to update Song of the Sea for a while. I’ve written new border options to reduce rolling. It’s easier to use up all of your skein. There are tips on how to modify the pattern for yarns from laceweight to DK. All will be revealed in February, with truly beautiful samples available to pet at the show.

OK, so I know the main reason people come to shows is to find gorgeous yarns. We will have lots of luxurious beauties on which to feast your eyes and fingers, I promise. There will be plenty of samples so that you can see how the yarns knit-up in Inspiration Knits patterns.

We have yarn from Juno Fibre Arts, Fyberspates and Whimzy (of Sokkusu fame). You won’t find Juno or Whimzy yarns anywhere else at the show. From Fyberspates, we’ll have some exclusive colours that you won’t find on Jeni’s own stand. And we’re hoping to have a mystery-guest dyer with her debut skeins – fingers crossed. Frankly, I’m not sure how I’m going to be able to bring myself to actually sell the yarn. I know I’ll just want to stuff it back in our car and drive straight home with it all! I’ll blog more about the yarns we’re bringing in the lead-up to the show.

There will be a free prize draw, with a prize each day of the show – so that’s three bundles of knitterly goodies available to win! If you’re at the show more than one day, make sure you remember to enter each time you’re there.

Since we’ve got a few designs that have optional beads, we’re bringing a lovely selection in the right size for knitting, and in pretty colours to go with the yarns. We’ll be able to show you how to add beads with a crochet hook if you’ve never done it before (it’s surprisingly easy, I promise).

Beads arrived

This is what almost 3kg of beads look like when they arrive. I have some work to do…

We’ve given some thought as to how people like their patterns. You’ll be able to buy your patterns either printed or electronically. The electronic patterns are delivered via Ravelry so that you will receive any future updates or errata (rare though they are) automatically. You can choose which you’d prefer.

We’re bundling things together into kits for the best value – for example, you’ll be able to get a special price for a pattern, yarn and beads all together. The kits will be fully customisable. I’ve always been reluctant to buy kits myself because there’s never exactly what I want in the kit, so ours won’t be like that; you can make up your perfect kit containing the things you actually need for your chosen project. Very exciting! And there might just be pretty project bags…so now I need to stop writing and run to organise those!

Unravel is in Farnham, Surrey on:

Friday 21 Feb 5-8pm

Saturday 22 Feb 10-5pm

Sunday 23 Feb 10-4pm

So, are you coming to the show? Are you bringing friends? I can’t wait! What are you looking forward to seeing?

4 thoughts on “Inspiration Knits is coming to Unravel!

  1. Sounds like a really great stand you will have. It’s a bit far (from north Lincolnshire) but I’m would buy lots I’m sure! It’s a fab idea to have yarn, patterns and beads all together to people can see how things might look. This weekend I’m going to cast on knit night which I bought the yarn and patten from Yarndale last year. Good luck

    • Thank you so much! It’s so exciting. And we just heard that our stand will be in the Great Hall, which is amazing.

      Good luck with Knit Night and I can’t wait to see your finished project. I’d love to get to Yarndale – I heard such good things about it. I’m glad you like the idea of having yarn, pattern & beads all together, plus the sample so people can really see everything. I think it’s really important!

  2. Pingback: Bringing a Little Whimzy to Unravel | INSPIRATION KNITS

Leave a Reply

