Sea Shanty

Song of the Sea - snug version

Song of the Sea – snug version

I loved the long Song of Sea cowl so much that I wanted to make a smaller one from some Fyberspates Scrumptious that I had left in my stash. I put the snug pattern in from the start, since I doubt I will be the only one who’d like a snug cowl too.

It’s felt a bit strange knitting one of my own patterns as a “project” but I desperately wanted my own one to wear – it was fun being part of the KAL in my group, especially since I don’t often get the chance to do a KAL.

I originally developed the design in Fyberspates Scrumptious 4ply Sport. I absolutely loved how it looked with the beautiful stitch definition and sheen on the yarn. However, I changed the design to Fyberspates Rural Charm because it has a 400m skein so that way I had enough yarn for a long cowl. The Scrumptious is perfect for the snug version, especially as the yarn is a little heavier.

The Scrumptious was indeed absolutely scrumptious to knit and I’m almost glad that May is so chilly here that I can wear it now! Love it.

Oh, and I’m pleased to report that I used less than 300yds – around 275m. Shade “Water” is the closest from the current Fyberspates palette.

So, on another note it gives me hope for another skein of yarn I have. It was stupidly expensive – on several counts. Firstly, it contains cashmere. Secondly it’s from Hand Maiden. Thirdly it’s only 275m…so what am I supposed to do with that?! I don’t want to make mitts since I don’t want it to wear the yarn into holes. And it’s far to bright for a hat; well, orange/red/purple is too much for me anyway. But it looks like luckily there is an answer – another small cowl design will be brewing sometime soon. Unless you have another idea, aside from merely petting it?

2 thoughts on “Sea Shanty

  1. I’ve always maintained that a cowl is the exact perfect use for that kind of luxury skein. (Sounds like HM Silk/Cashmere in Sangria… am I right? Was I responsible for that one?) So soft and warm against your neck. And maximum bang for your limited yardage buck.

  2. You were indeed responsible for that particular skein! Yes I believe it’s Sangria, though tis Bess Merino/Cashmere. I know you know your colours of HM!! I confess I recently acquired a skein of HM seasilk in Berry…also delicious but more sensible yardage. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a dodgy skein from HM.

Leave a Reply

