Knitter’s Haiku

Knitter's Haiku

Knitter’s Haiku

CO three, kfb, k1, kfb (5 sts)

Purl front back, p3, purl front back (7 sts)

K2, cdd, k2, cast off (5 sts)

I stupidly thought this was going to be the worlds fastest blog post. But it took an awful lot of swatches to get even close to something that looked slightly nice. OK, I admit it still looks small and pointless. Like my poem, so that’s justice I suppose.

For about 25sts of knitting (including casting on and off), it’s taken, oooh at least two hours to get right. Not quite in the league of the Japanese sushi chefs who spend two years learning to make rice correctly, but I was striving for my own kind of perfection in 3 rows of knitting.

I liked this next version of the poem too, but the swatches were foul, whatever I did. Including, um, actually trying to block* one of the silk ones. I will spare you the 5 other versions of the poem since I think you might nod off reading all the knitting abbreviations. But feel free to develop your own and post it in the comments.

Swatches

Swatches: give it up now?

Lace Haiku

CO3. (k1, yo) twice, k1 (5 sts)

Purl one, yrn, p3, yrn, purl one. (7 sts)

K2, cdd, k2, cast off. (5 sts)

Abbreviations (you seriously want to knit your own one?):

cdd – centred double decrease – slip 2 sts as if to work a knit-two-together, knit one, pass slipped stitches over.

CO – cast on

k – knit

kfb – knit into front and back of stitch, creating two from one

p – purl

sts – stitches

yo – yarn over needle, creating an extra stitch

yrn – yarn round needle, creating an extra stitch

*Do I really have to own up to what blocking is? It was soaking it in water, stretching it out (OK I didn’t actually pin it out) and waiting for it to dry in the vain attempt i would look nicer. It usually transforms lace knitting. This was unsalvageable.

Leave a Reply

